OSU retains Judson-Ross Cup after successful racing at MACRA 2018

Coxswain Amanda Kenepp goes for a swim after leading the men's varsity 4+ to a victory at MACRA

On Sunday the Buckeyes traveled to Harsha Lake near Cincinnati for the MACRA championship regatta. It was all around good racing for the Buckeyes, with many athletes racing multiple events throughout the day. The men’s varsity 4+ of Mark Fisher, Blaine Brown, Jake Bridges, Dillan Thomson, and Amanda Kenepp (cox) won the event with open water on the rest of the field, securing the Judson-Ross cup for Ohio State for the second year in a row. There were also many other highlights on the day. Rachel Bushman took home a silver medal from the women’s varsity 1x event. The men’s ltwt 4+ of Johan McGwire, Dillan Thomson, Ben Young, Jack Rochester, and Jo Moretina (cox) took 3rd place in their event. The men’s novice 4+ of Nick Brinkel, Brian Mingus, Evan Smith, Lucas Tran, and Melissa Bettinger (cox) also took bronze.  The men’s novice 8+ just missed the podium with their 4th place finish. The women’s varsity 8+ placed 5th, making them the first Ohio State varsity 8+ to advance to finals at MACRA since 2012. The team ended up 6th in the team point standings. Full results are posted here.