Hey Mom! Look what I got!!

On behalf of the team, we would like to congratulate all Ohio State seniors that graduated this past weekend! OSU Crew sent our beloved seniors off in style with our annual Blade Ceremony Reception. This event recognized the strenuous efforts and outstanding achievements of the full team, extending notoriety to a select few that went above and beyond expectation.

We were gracious to kick off the event with our 2019 Spring Highlight video, the long awaited sequel to our Lake Lure Hype video. Special thanks to Brendan White and Lauren Worthington for their stellar videography talents on these projects! Watch the full video on Lauren’s channel by following this link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=er3VzZfgbMI

Its never easy to wake up at 5 am and shell out several pieces at maximum pressure. Our seniors have been doing it for years. Now’s the time that we recognize their sacrifice (and precious extra zzz’s forfeited) with their own Ohio State Crew oar blade. We had nine seniors that received the memento at Blade Ceremony, as well as two additional seniors recognized for their brief involvement with the team:

Alana Schlegel

Andrew Noonan

Ben Young

Ben Coffey

Debbie Lindstrom

Eric Decaire

Grant Ingram

Hailey Knobloch

Harrison Ellis

Jake Bridges

Joshua Rochelau

In addition to recognizing our seniors, we had several recipients of distinguished awards within OSU Crew:

Oarsman/Oarswoman of the Year
Brian Mingus
Hailey Knobloch

Coaches’ Cup
Eric Decaire

Novice of the Year
John Duhigg
Bridget Sweeney

Scarlet and Gray Award:
Harrison Ellis
Maddie McConaghy

Tim Carrigg Award for the Most Improved Athlete:
Austin Knorz
Meilin Hou

President’s Plaque
Jake Bridges

Boathouse Service Award:
Andrew Noonan

Peter Steenstra Award: Jenn Stoner

Resonating words from Coach Andy Wimmer ended on the quote “Spring is not over yet, our work has just begun.” Ohio State Crew, along with its newest alumnus of the university, look to produce meaning performances at our upcoming championship regattas, Jefferson Dad Vail and ACRA National Championships.